Movie News

Published on March 8th, 2019 | by gareth


Anthony Bloom To Get Lifetime Achievement Award At Cinemacon


WASHINGTON D.C. (March 8, 2019) – Anthony Bloom, Chairman Cineworld Group plc, will receive this year’s “Lifetime Achievement Award.” Mitch Neuhauser, Managing Director of CinemaCon, announced the award today. CinemaCon, the official convention of NATO, will be held April 1-4, 2019 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. Bloom will be presented with this honor at CinemaCon’s opening night festivities on Monday, April 1, 2019.
“In leading Cineworld to the deal with Cinema City Holding in 2014 and then in 2018, the purchase of Regal Entertainment, Anthony Bloom was part of an incredible statement about the future of the motion theatre industry,” noted Neuhauser. “He has made great contributions towards making Cineworld Group one of the world’s leading and most important entertainment companies, responsible for providing hours of endless enjoyment and wonder to moviegoers of all ages and cultures around the globe. We take great pleasure in honoring Mr. Bloom for what is truly a lifetime of achievements.”
Anthony Bloom is an international private equity investor and one of the founding shareholders of Cineworld Group plc, a company of which he has been Chairman since its inception in 1996. Cineworld Group plc is the world’s second largest cinema chain, with 9,538 screens across 793 cinemas in 10 countries including the US and the UK. Prior to his move to London in 1988, Bloom was Chairman and Chief Executive of The Premier Group, one of South Africa’s biggest diversified industrial enterprises. In South Africa, he was a member of the Board of Directors of Barclays Bank, Liberty Life Association and South African Breweries.
He was educated at the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, Harvard Law School and the Stanford Graduate School of Business. In 2002, he was awarded the Degree of Doctor of Law honoris causa by the University of Witwatersrand in recognition of his contribution towards the establishment of a non-racial society in South Africa. He is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Board of the Harvard Law School, and is a director on a number of boards including the London Symphony Orchestra, Techoserve Inc. and several other companies associated with his investment portfolio.

Tags: ,

About the Author

Syndicated movie & game critic, writer, author and frequent radio guest. His work has appeared in over 60 publications worldwide and he is the creator of the rising entertainment site and publication “Skewed and Reviewed”. He has three books of film, game reviews and interviews published and is a well-received and in demand speaker on the convention circuit. Gareth has appeared in movies and is a regular guest on a top-rated Seattle morning show. He has also appeared briefly in films such as “Prefountaine”, “Postal”. “Far Cry”. and others. Gareth is also an in-demand speaker at several conventions and has conducted popular panels for over two decades.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Find Fair & Safe gambling sites at the Online Casino Canada Top5
  • CryptoCasinos offers crypto and bitcoin guides for everything that's gambling-related.
  • CoinCasinos compare the best crypto betting sites available around the world.
  • Looking for a new casino offer? Find out all new online casinos with our outstanding list of gambling sites
  • If you're looking for a low deposit casino, click here to see a list.

    Info on
  • Do you like playing games online? Try your luck and choose one of the best casinos Canada with our all-in-depth guide.
  • Filipino gamblers are interested in playing licensed casino games and slots. Don't hesitate to check reliable Philippines online casino using GCash with top games of 2022
  • is the source to information about online casino news
  • Looking for a new gaming experience? Choose the best online casino from our list and try hundreds new games!
  • Those interested in CSGO gambling can check out the new 2022 guides at BestCSGOGambling
  • Visit for online casino's in Canada

    Start your casino journey by signing up at a new no deposit casino listed on NewCasinoUK and enjoy the latest casino games.

    Grab the best live casino bonuses for Canadian players on and enjoy the live casino experience with dedicated offers.
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives